SF State Wind Ensemble and Los Medanos College Concert Band

Thursday, October 31, 2013, 5:00 pm
The SF State Wind Ensemble and Los Medanos College Concert Band perform works by Arturo Marquez, Joseph Stillwell and Karel Husa. SF State Wind Ensemble conducted by Martin Seggelke. Los Medanos College Concert Band conducted by Jonathan Knight. Free.
Creative Arts Building, McKenna Theatre
School of Music and Dance
SF State Box Office
Event extras: 

SF State Wind Ensemble

While offering performers opportunities to expand their technical, intellectual and musical horizons, the SF State Wind Ensemble intends to broaden performance and teaching skills by cultivating an interest in wind music as an integral part of the American music scene. Wind Ensemble alumni perform all across the globe, and hold teaching positions or leadership roles in their respective major areas of concentration throughout the U.S.

Wind Ensemble performances feature new compositions for wind band in addition to works from the core wind literature. The ensemble is dedicated to presenting an exciting variety of challenging repertoire from all musical periods, cultures and styles. The ensemble commissions new music, presents world premieres and collaborates with renowned guest artists.

Los Medanos College Concert Band

The Los Medanos College Concert Band is made up of music majors preparing for careers in performance and education and students majoring in other fields who want to keep up their playing. Led by Jonathan Knight, band students explore a variety of challenging music in a supportive, collegial atmosphere. Several collaborative performances with other bands occur each semester, both on and off campus, and students are eligible to participate each year in the Northern California Community College Honor Band under the direction of regionally and nationally renowned conductors.


Los Medanos College Concert Band

  • Bach (1685–1750): Prelude and Fugue in G minor
  • Jager (1939–): Third Suite (1965)
  • McBeth (1933 – ): Chant and Jubilo (1961)

SF State Wind Ensemble

  • Márquez (1950–): Danzon No. 2 (1994)
  • Stillwell (1984–): Harbinger (2013)
  • Husa (1921–): Apotheosis of the Earth (1971)

Los Medanos College Concert Band and SF State Wind Ensemble

  • Copland (1900 – 1990): Variations on a Shaker Melody (1956)
  • Elliott (1891 – 1964): British Eighth (1944)

Related event

SF State Wind Ensemble, October 29, 2013