Morrison Artists Series: Cellist Jay Campbell in recital with pianist Conor Hanick

Sunday, March 13, 2016, 3:00 pm
Photos of cellist Jay Campbell and pianist Conor Hanick
Jay Campbell is the most exciting young cellist to recently emerge on the concert stage. His vividly ravishing performances illuminate, as never before, the richness of the repertoire for this most evocative of musical instruments. Recognized for his diverse artistic interests and encompassing musical abilities, pianist Conor Hanick has given acclaimed solo and chamber music performances around the world and collaborated with music's most accomplished instrumentalists, conductors, ensembles and composers. Pre-concert talk: 2pm. Master class: March 14, 12:10 - 2pm, Knuth Hall. Free.
Creative Arts Building, McKenna Theatre
May T. Morrison Chamber Music Center
SF State Box Office
Event extras: 

Jay Campbell

Armed with a diverse spectrum of repertoire and eclectic musical interests, cellist Jay Campbell was named First Prize winner of the 2012 Concert Artist Guild auditions. He is the recipient of awards from the BMI and ASCAP foundations and has been heard on television, radio broad-casts and in concert halls around the world, including concerto appearances in Carnegie Hall, Alice Tully Hall, Avery Fisher Hall, Kultur und Kongresszentrum-Luzern, and the Aspen Music Festival. Dedicated to the music of our own time, he has collaborated with an array of artists ranging from composers including Elliott Carter, Pierre Boulez, Kaija Saariaho and John Zorn.


Conor Hanick

In performances ranging from the early Baroque to the newly written, Hanick’s playing has been described as “brilliant,” “astounding” (The New York Times), “expert” (Philadelphia Inquirer) and “sparkling” (The Strad), reminding New York Times chief critic Anthony Tommasini of a “young Peter Serkin.” Although Hanick has been recognized as a “true champion of contemporary music” (National Public Radio), through his deep commitment to the music of our time, Tommasini wrote that Hanick’s “technical refinement, color, crispness and wondrous variety of articulation … benefit works by any master.”


  • Olivier Messiaen (1908 – 1992): Vocalise, arr. for cello and piano (1935)
  • Charles Wuorinen (b. 1938): Orbicle of Jasp (1999)
  • Ludwig von Beethoven (1770 – 1827): Variations on “Bei Männern welche Liebe fühlen” from Mozart's Die Zauberflöte, WoO 46 (1801)
  • Claude Debussy (1862 – 1918): Sonate for Cello and Piano, L. 135 (1915)
  • Intermission
  • Olivier Messiaen (1908 – 1992): Louange à l'immortalité de Jésus, from Quatuor pour le fin du temps (1941)
  • Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897): Sonata in F Major, Op. 99 (1886)