Morrison Artists Series: New York Polyphony

Friday, May 6, 2016, 8:00 pm
Photo of New York Polyphony members wearing gray suits with pink neckties
Four a cappella male voices beautifully illuminate great vocal repertoire from the Middle Ages and Renaissance to vibrant, newly commissioned works of our own time. Pre-concert talk: 7pm. Master class: 11am - 1pm, Creative Arts Building, Room 146. Free.
Creative Arts Building, McKenna Theatre
May T. Morrison Chamber Music Center
SF State Box Office
Event extras: 

New York Polyphony

  • Geoffrey Williams, countertenor
  • Steven Caldicott Wilson, tenor
  • Christopher Dylan Herbert, baritone
  • Craig Phillips

Praised for a “rich, natural sound that’s larger and more complex than the sum of its parts” (National Public Radio), New York Polyphony is regarded as one of the finest vocal chamber ensembles in the world. These four “singers of superb musicianship and vocal allure” (The New Yorker) apply a modern touch to repertoire that ranges from austere medieval melodies to cutting-edge contemporary compositions. Their dedication to innovative programming, as well as a focus on rare and rediscovered Renaissance and medieval works, has not only earned New York Polyphony critical acclaim, but also helped to move early music into the classical mainstream. The ensemble’s growing discography includes two Grammy-nominated releases and albums that have topped the “best-of” lists of The New Yorker, Gramophone and BBC Music Magazine.


  • Francisco Guerrero (1528 – 1599): Regina caeli
  • John Dunstable (c.1380 – 1453): Speciosa facta es 
  • John Pyamour (d. 1431): Quam pulchra es 
  • John Plummer (c. 1410 – c. 1483): Tota pulchra es
  • Michael McGlynn (b. 1964): O pia Virgo*
  • Francisco Guerrero (1528 – 1599): Quae est ista/Surge propera
  • Antoine Brumel (c. 1460 – c. 1515): Sicut lilium 
  • Jacob Clemens non Papa (c.1510 – c.1555): Ego flos campi/Sub umbra illius
  • Ivan Moody (b. 1964): Canticum Canticorum 
  • Trinity Roll MS: There is no Rose
  • John Scott (b. 1956): There is no Rose*
  • Geoffrey Williams (b. 1976): There is no Rose*
  • *Composed for New York Polyphony


    New York Polyphony

    Photo by Chris Owyoung