Lin He, violin, and I-Hsuan Cheng, piano

Wednesday, September 28, 2016, 1:00 pm to 2:00 pm
Black and white photos of Lin He and I-Hsuan Cheng
Violinist Lin He and pianist I-Hsuan Cheng perform works by Debussy, Ravel and Kreisler. Free.
Creative Arts Building, Knuth Hall
School of Music
School of Music
Event extras: 

Lin He

Violinist Lin He made his Carnegie Hall debut in November 2014, after a performance there earlier that year with principal players from the Metropolitan Opera, New York Philharmonic and Philadelphia Orchestra. He has presented recitals at universities across the United States and China. As an orchestral player, He has performed with the Shanghai Symphony, Rochester Philharmonic and New World Symphony. He is a regular addition to the Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra. He has been a laureate of the Padesta Solo and ASTA competitions. He is an associate professor of violin at the Louisiana State University School of Music and associate concertmaster of the Baton Rouge Symphony. The Shanghai native received his doctorate from the Eastman School of Music, where he studied under Zvi Zeitlin.

I-Hsuan Cheng

Pianist I-Hsuan Cheng’s performing career has taken her around the world, including Rhodos, Como, Taipei, New York City, San Diego, Paris, Prague and Boston. A recent review in La Cronica described Cheng’s performance as “captivating and mesmerizing,” with her playing demonstrating “a palette of colors and poetry.” She started her life as a pianist at age 4, and she has continued as a recitalist and a chamber musician throughout her life. She completed her graduate studies at Eastman School of Music, receiving Master of Music and Doctor of Musical Arts degrees. Cheng’s current performances include recitals with violinists Daniel Hung, David Leung and Elbert Tsai. The San Francisco resident cites her ballerina mother, Mei-Ling, as her primary artistic inspiration.


  • Claude Debussy (1862 – 1918): Sonata in G minor for violin and piano, L. 140
  • Maurice Ravel (1875 – 1937): Sonata in G major for violin and piano
  • Fritz Kreisler (1875 – 1962): Tambourin chinois, Op. 3