Morrison Artists Series: Inscape

Sunday, November 6, 2016, 3:00 pm
Photo of the Inscape Ensemble holding instruments
This exciting young ensemble from our nation's capitol is pushing the boundaries of classical music with riveting performances that reach across genres and generations. Pre-concert talk: 2pm. Master class: November 7, noon, Knuth Hall. Free.
Creative Arts Building, McKenna Theatre
May T. Morrison Chamber Music Center
SF State Box Office
Event extras: 

“brilliant” — The New York Times

“guts and musical sensitivity”  —  Washington Post

“aurally stunning”  — ArchivMusic


Founded in 2004 by Artistic Director Richard Scerbo, INSCAPE Chamber Orchestra is pushing the boundaries of classical music in riveting performances that reach across genres and generations, and transcend the confines of the traditional classical concert experience.  With its unique brand of programming, this critically acclaimed, Grammy-nominated group of high energy master musicians has quickly established itself as one of the premier performing ensembles in the Washington, DC region and beyond.

Inscape has worked joyously and often with emerging American composers and has a commitment to presenting concerts featuring the music of our time.  Since its inception, Inscape has commissioned and premiered over twenty new works.  Inscape members regularly perform with the National, Baltimore, Philadelphia, Virginia, Richmond, and Delaware symphonies, the Washington Opera Orchestra, and are members of the premiere Washington service bands.  Former Inscape performers are members of orchestras across the United States and abroad.  

Inscape regularly performs as the Ensemble-in-Residence at The Episcopal Church of the Redeemer in Bethesda, Maryland, as well as at the National Gallery of Art, Strathmore Music Center, Kennedy Center and other local and national venues.  Inscape records exclusively for Dorian Sono Luminus.    


  • Paul Moravec (1957 – ): Tempest Fantasy, for clarinet, violin, cello and piano (2003), winner of 2004 Pulitzer Prize
  • Olivier Messiaen (1908 – 1992): Quatuor pour le fin du temps (Quartet for the end of time), for clarinet, violin, cello and piano (1940)