Morrison Artists Series: Zéphyros Winds

Friday, February 9, 2018, 8:00 pm
Black and white photo of Zephyros Winds quintet holding instruments
Bringing together five of the finest wind virtuosos of its generation, Zéphyros Winds won both the first and grand prizes at the 1995 Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition, becoming the first wind quintet in the competition's 22-year history to do so. Zéphyros made its New York debut at the 2004 Mostly Mozart Festival and has since appeared at the nation's most prestigious concert venues, including the Library of Congress, Wolf Trap, Carnegie's Weill Hall, Dumbarton Oaks, Baryshnikov Art Center and Lincoln Center's Great Performers Series. Pre-concert talk: 7pm. The master class scheduled for February 9 has been canceled. Free.
Creative Arts Building, McKenna Theatre
May T. Morrison Chamber Music Center
SF State Box Office
Event extras: 

“This young ensemble could convince you that the sound of music in heaven is a delicately blended and balanced ensemble of flute, oboe, clarinet, horn and bassoon.” — Washington Post

Zéphyros Winds

  • Fatma Daglar, oboe
  • Jennifer Grim, flute
  • Marianne Gythfeldt, clarinet
  • Saxton Rose, bassoon
  • Zohar Schondorf, horn

In 2010, Zéphyros Winds performed in Beijing, China, at the National Centre for the Performing Arts’ May Festival. The Philadelphia Museum of Art engaged Zéphyros to create a program complimenting the exhibition, Manet and the Sea. At the invitation of the French Embassy in Washington, D.C., Zéphyros performed a gala concert celebrating the centenary of Francis Poulenc’s birth.

Radio broadcasts include Performance Today for National Public Radio (most recently in early 2016), Public Radio International’s Music from Chautauqua and WNYC’s Around New York. The quintet’s live recording of Irving Fine’s Partita for Woodwind Quintet was released on Bridge Records. Zéphyros has given master classes at the Yale University School of Music, The Juilliard School, Eastman School of Music and the Idyllwild Arts Academy.


  • György Ligeti (1923 – 2006): Six Bagatelles for Wind Quintet (1953)
  • Irving Fine (1914 – 1962): Partita for Wind Quintet (1948)
  • György Ligeti: Ten Pieces for Wind Quintet (1968)
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 – 1791): Serenade No. 12 in C minor, K. 388 (1783)

Photo by Ian Donald