Morrison Artists Series: Horszowski Trio

Sunday, March 4, 2018, 3:00 pm
Photo of Horszowski Trio members seated and holding their instruments
Lauded by The New Yorker as "destined for great things," the Horszowski Trio has performed extensively in the U.S., Canada, Japan, India and China. Its 2014 debut recording on Bridge Records of works by Fauré, Saint-Saëns and D'Indy was featured as Recording of the Month by MusicWeb International. Pre-concert talk: 2pm. Master class: March 5, noon - 2pm, Knuth Hall. Free.
Creative Arts Building, McKenna Theatre
May T. Morrison Chamber Music Center
SF State Box Office
Event extras: 

“The Horszowskis are power players. … Memorably monumental.” — Los Angeles Times

Horszowski Trio

  • Jesse Mills, violin
  • Rieko Aizawa, piano
  • Raman Ramakrishnan, cello

Two-time Grammy-nominated violinist Jesse Mills first performed with Raman Ramakrishnan, founding cellist of the prize-winning Daedalus Quartet, at the Kinhaven Music School when they were children. In New York City, they met pianist Rieko Aizawa, who, upon being discovered by the late violinist and conductor Alexander Schneider, had made her U.S. debuts at the Kennedy Center and Carnegie Hall. Their musical bonds were strengthened at various schools and festivals around the world, including The Juilliard School and the Marlboro Festival. Aizawa was the last pupil of legendary pianist Mieczysław Horszowski (1892 – 1993) at the Curtis Institute.

The trio takes inspiration from Horszowski’s musicianship, integrity and humanity. Like Horszowski, the trio presents repertoire spanning the traditional and the contemporary. In addition, it seeks to perform works from the trove of composers with whom Horszowski had personal contact, such as Ravel, Saint-Saëns, Fauré, Martinu, Villa-Lobos and Granados.

Based in New York City, the members of the Horszowski Trio teach at Columbia University and Bard College’s Longy School of Music.


  • Arthur Foote (1853 – 1937): Trio No. 2 in B flat major, Op. 65 (1908)
  • Charles Wuorinen (1938 – ): Trio for Violin, Cello and Piano (1983)
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809 – 1847): Trio No. 2 in C minor, Op. 66 (1845)

Photo by Lisa-Marie Mazzucco