Alexander String Quartet

Thursday, May 21, 2020, 5:00 pm
Photo of the Alexander String Quartet
From left: Cellist Sandy Wilson, violist Paul Yarbrough, violinist Zakarias Grafilo and violinist Frederick Lifsitz. Photo by Shirley Singer.

To celebrate the conclusion of the academic year, SF State’s longtime quartet-in-residence performs Antonín Dvořák’s “American” Quartet in F Major, Opus 96 (1893), in a virtual, online format. Q&A with the Alexander String Quartet included, led by Cyrus Ginwala. Free.


This event is also available on the College of Liberal & Creative Arts’ YouTube channel.

Alexander String Quartet

The Alexander String Quartet has performed in the major music capitals of five continents, securing its standing among the world’s premier ensembles, and a major artistic presence in its home base of San Francisco, serving since 1989 as ensemble in residence of San Francisco Performances and directors of the Morrison Chamber Music Center at SF State. Widely admired for its interpretations of Beethoven, Mozart and Shostakovich, the quartet’s recordings have won international critical acclaim.

College of Liberal & Creative Arts, Morrison Chamber Music Center
SF State Box Office