Jane H. Galante Concert Series: Alexander String Quartet

Tuesday, December 1, 2020, 7:00 pm
Photo of the five members of the Alexander String Quartet
From left: Sandy Wilson, Frederick Lifsitz, Zakarias Grafilo, David Samuel and Paul Yarbrough. Photo by Martyn Selman.

The Alexander String Quartet has performed in the major music capitals of five continents, securing its standing among the world’s premier ensembles, and a major artistic presence in its home base of San Francisco, serving since 1989 as ensemble in residence of San Francisco Performances and directors of the Morrison Chamber Music Center at SF State. Widely admired for its interpretations of Beethoven, Mozart and Shostakovich, the quartet’s recordings have won international critical acclaim. Members of the Alexander String Quartet will participate in a live chat with the audience on the Morrison Chamber Music Center website. Free.



Alexander String Quartet

Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897): String Quartet in B-Flat Major, Op. 67

Alexander String Quartet with Paul Yarbrough, viola

Johannes Brahms: Intermezzo in A Major Op. 118, No. 2 (originally for piano solo, transcribed by Zakarias Grafilo)

Alexander String Quartet

  • Zakarias Grafilo, violin
  • Frederick Lifsitz, violin
  • David Samuel, viola
  • Sandy Wilson, cello
Online (YouTube)
May T. Morrison Chamber Music Center
Morrison Chamber Music Center