Jane H. Galante Concert Series: Alexander String Quartet

Sunday, April 11, 2021, 3:00 pm
From left: Sandy Wilson, Frederick Lifsitz, Zakarias Grafilo, David Samuel and Paul Yarbrough. Photo by Martyn Selman.

The Alexander String Quartet has performed in the major music capitals of five continents, securing its standing among the world’s premier ensembles, and a major artistic presence in its home base of San Francisco, serving since 1989 as ensemble in residence of San Francisco Performances and directors of the Morrison Chamber Music Center at SF State. Widely admired for its interpretations of Beethoven, Mozart and Shostakovich, the quartet’s recordings have won international critical acclaim. Free.



Alexander String Quartet

George Walker (1922 – 2018): String Quartet No. 1 (1947) BLM

Alexander String Quartet with David Samuel, viola

Maurice Ravel (1875 – 1937): String Quartet in F (1903)

Alexander String Quartet

  • Zakarias Grafilo, violin
  • Frederick Lifsitz, violin
  • David Samuel, viola
  • Sandy Wilson, cello
Online (YouTube)
May T. Morrison Chamber Music Center
Morrison Chamber Music Center