Broadcast and Electronic Communication Arts Department Wins Regional Emmy Award

Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Photo of Nancy "Sami" Reist giving acceptance speech for BECA Department's Emmy Award
Professor and Chair Nancy “Sami” Reist (foreground) accepts the Governors’ Award on behalf of the Broadcast and Electronic Communication Arts Department. Photo by Ken Newberry.

The Broadcast and Electronic Communication Arts (BECA) Department received the Governors’ Award at the 48th annual Northern California Emmy Awards, held June 8 in San Francisco. The award is the highest honor a chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) can give.

The Northern California chapter of NATAS cited BECA as one of the leading broadcasting programs in the U.S., starting in 1946 with San Francisco State’s first radio course. Some of the top names in broadcast journalism and entertainment are BECA graduates. They include Frasier co-creator and Executive Producer Peter Casey, Saturday Night Live alum Dana Carvey, NBC News Correspondent Miguel Almaguer, Academy Award-nominated sound editor Chris Scarabosio, former HBO Director of Strategy and Planning Dottie Simmons, KCBS-AM Reporter Megan Goldsby and 95.7 FM The Game host Bonta Hill.

“BECA students are quick to apply the theories they learn in the classroom, to the practice of telling compelling stories in making our world a more interesting, diverse and just place to live,” BECA Chair Sami Reist said in her acceptance speech. “For decades BECA graduates have contributed at every level to this vibrant industry, and we eagerly look forward to seeing more dynamic work from them in the coming years.”

25 alumni win 33 awards

The Northern California Area Emmy Awards, presented by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences chapter, recognize excellence in television and online production. This year’s 275 winners in 109 categories were selected among 937 entries.

A total of 25 San Francisco State alumni combined to win 33 statuettes, led by Luis Godínez of San Francisco’s Univision affiliate, KDTV-14, with four awards.

The competition includes television and cable stations from the following areas: Sacramento-Stockton-Modesto, San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose, Fresno-Visalia, Honolulu, Reno, Monterey-Salinas, Chico-Redding and Eureka.

San Francisco State winners

News Special Program, “ABC7 Presents: Chasing the Golden State Killer,” KGO-7

  • Ken Miguel (B.A., Radio and Television, ’96), associate producer
  • Leslie Brinkley (B.A., English, ’89), reporter
  • Hadrian Santos (B.A., Cinema, ’05), editor

Arts/Entertainment-Program/Special, “Oddball,” KQED-9

  • Joshua S. Moore (B.A., Cinema, ’96), editor

Informational/Instructional-Feature/Segment, “Best by Sell by How Best to Buy Milk,” KPIX-5

  • Alexander Louie (B.A., Radio and Television, ’05), photojournalist
  • Brian Yuen (B.A., Radio and Television, ’88), photojournalist

Continuing Coverage-Within 24 Hours, “ABC-10 Camp Fire Survivors’ Stories,” KXTV-10

  • Sam Cohen (B.A., Liberal Studies, ’00), director of content

Human Interest-Program/Special, “A Bad Fall,”

  • Deborah Svoboda (B.A., Journalism, ’15), producer/video journalist/editor

Interview/Discussion-Program/Special, “Forever Giants: Jeffrey Leonard,” NBC Sports Bay Area/San Francisco Giants, SFG Productions

  • Paul Hodges III (B.A., Radio and Television, ’01), executive producer
  • Alyssa Royce (B.A., Radio and Television, ’13), producer
  • Brad Martens (B.A., Radio and Television, ’09), producer/video archivist

Special Event Coverage, “2018 Chinese New Year Parade,” KTVU-2

  • Ben Fong-Torres (B.A., Radio-Television-Film, ’66), anchor
  • Daniel Berger (B.A., Radio and Television, ’95), technical director
  • Steve M. Shlisky (M.A., Radio and Television, ’00), editor

Sports-Program Feature/Segment, “25 City,” Francisco Giants, SFG Productions

  • Paul Hodges III, executive producer
  • Alyssa Royce, producer/director/editor
  • Brad Martens, producer/media manager

Sports-One-Time Special, “Hero in the End Zone: Dwight Clark,” KNTV-11

  • Alex Bozovic (B.A., Radio and Television, ’97), photographer/editor

Sports Game-Live/Unedited (Program), “Sean Manaea no-hitter vs. Boston,” NBC Sports California

  • D’Aulaire Louwerse (B.A., Radio and Television, ’97), producer
  • Michael Rosenthal (B.A., Radio and Television, ’90), associate director
  • Glen Kuiper (B.A., Radio and Television, ’90), play-by-play announcer

Talent-Anchor-Weather, “Mother Nature’s Fury: Water and Fire,” KGMB-5/KHNL-13

  • Jennifer Robbins (B.S., Meteorology, ’07), weather anchor

Talent-Program Host/Moderator/Reporter, “Extra Butter with Mark S. Allen,” KXTV-10

  • Mark S. Allen (B.A., Radio and Television, ’77), host

Newscast-Daytime-Larger Markets-Spanish, “Noticiero Telemundo 48 al Mediodía,” KXTV-10

  • Flavio Lacayo (B.A., Radio and Television, ’98), anchor/reporter

Newscast-Daytime-Larger Markets-Spanish, “Noticiero Telemundo 48 al Mediodía,” KXTV-10

  • Flavio Lacayo, anchor/reporter

Continuing Coverage-Spanish, “California en llamas,” KDTV-14

  • Luis Godínez (B.A., Radio and Television, ’03), producer

News Special Program-Spanish, “Incendios Mortales: Un Año Después,” KSTS-48

  • Lorena Domínguez (B.A., Radio and Television, ’06), anchor

Arts/Entertainment-Spanish, “Mariachi Proud Special,” KDTV-14

  • Luis Godínez, producer

Informational/Instructional-Spanish, “Me voy o me quedo,” KDTV-14

  • Luis Godínez, producer

Human Interest-Program/Special-Spanish, “Valentia de Vivir,” KDTV-14

  • Luis Godínez, producer

Commercial-Single Spot or Campaign-Spanish, “No Hay Nada Más SF,” Francisco Giants, SFG Productions

  • Paul Hodges III, executive producer
  • Antonio A. Ayala (B.A., BECA, ’13), producer/writer
  • David Bernstein (B.A., Cinema, ’14), director

— Matt Itelson



News Article