Seven Faculty, Staff Win College of Liberal & Creative Arts Excellence Awards

Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Photos of each of the seven College of Liberal & Creative Arts Excellence Award winners and vertical SF State logo
Clockwise from top left: Shelley Wilcox, Crystal Wong, Justin Tiwald, Weimin Zhang, Mitra Ara, Rosa Valencia and Irina Simon

The College of Liberal & Creative Arts presented its third annual Excellence Awards to faculty and staff on August 20. The seven winners were announced at the College’s opening meeting for the 2020 – 2021 year, held by video conference.


  • Excellence in Teaching (Tenured/Tenure-track): Shelley Wilcox, Philosophy
  • Excellence in Teaching (Lecturer): Crystal Wong, English Language and Literature
  • Excellence in Professional Growth (Research and Scholarship): Justin Tiwald, Philosophy
  • Excellence in Professional Growth (Creative Endeavors): Weimin Zhang, Cinema
  • Excellence in Service: Mitra Ara, Modern Languages and Literatures
  • Staff Excellence (Department): Rosa Valencia, Design
  • Staff Excellence (College): Irina Simon
News Article