Yehudi Menuhin Seminar for Chamber Music

Friday, May 8, 2015 (All day) to Sunday, May 10, 2015 (All day)
Photo of student violinist
This special event provides young chamber music ensembles from throughout California the opportunity to participate in master classes and concerts with the Music faculty. Ensembles will compete for cash prizes and Music scholarships to SF State. Free.
Creative Arts Building, Knuth Hall
School of Music and Dance
SF State Box Office
Event extras: 

Launched in 2003 to honor the great violinist Yehudi Menuhin’s association with San Francisco and SF State, this event advances the belief that music has the power to create understanding and transcend differences between people. Directed by Cyrus Ginwala.


  • Master class, May 8, 2:10pm: The Afiara Quartet works intensively with students on interpretation and performance of masterworks from the chamber music repertoire.
  • Concert, May 8, 8pm: The Afiara Quartet performs the world premiere of Professor Richard Festinger’s String Quartet No. 3, as well as works by Mozart and Schumann. McKenna Theatre.
  • Concert, May 9, 2:30pm: A Tribute to Laszlo Varga. This “cello-bration” concert presentation honors the memory of the professor emeritus, who escaped the Holocaust and served as principal cellist for the New York Philharmonic. Program to include Franz Schubert (1797 – 1827): String Quintet in C Major D. 956 (Scherzo. Presto – Trio. Andante sostenuto). Reception to follow.
  • Menuhin Chamber Music Concert, May 9, 7:30pm: Faculty, students and Menuhin Seminar participants perform. McKenna Theatre.
  • Winners Concert, May 10, 4pm: Announcement of Galante Prize winners and closing performance.

Concert program for May 9, 7:30pm

Ernest Chausson (1855 – 1899): Concerto for Violin, Piano and String Quartet, Op. 21

  • Sicilienne
  • Jassen Todorov, violin
  • Jeff LeDeur, piano
  • Afiara Quartet
  • Valerie Li and Tomothy Cantor, violins
  • Eric Wong, viola
  • Adrian Fung, cello

Béla Bartók (1881 – 1945): Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion, Sz. 110

  • Assai lento – Allegro non troppo
  • Lento, ma non troppo
  • Allegro non troppo
  • Roger Woodward and David Borac, pianos
  • Allen Biggs and Michael Kiely, percussion


Franz Schubert (1797 – 1827): String Quintet in C Major D. 956

  • Allegro ma non troppo Adagio Scherzo. Presto – Trio. Andante sostenuto Allegretto Members of the Alexander and Afiara string quartets Zakarias Grafilo and Valerie Li, violins Paul Yarbrough, viola Sandy Wilson and Adrian Fung, cellos

Concert program for May 10, 4pm

Galante Prize winners performances


Aaron Copland (1900 – 1990): Appalachian Spring

  • Cyrus Ginwala, conductor
  • Linda Lukas, flute
  • Natalie Parker, clarinet
  • Dan McNeill, bassoon
  • Zakarias Grafilo, Frederick Lifsitz, Jassen Todorov and Sinella Aghasi, violins
  • Paul Yarbrough and Justin Ouellet, violas
  • Sandy Wilson and Arsham Pourfallah, cellos
  • Scott Lindorfer, bass

Related event

Morrison Artists Series: Afiara String Quartet, May 8


The application period has closed.

Event news

Professor Cyrus Ginwala to Lead Yehudi Menuhin Chamber Music Seminar