Endowed Chair Dr. Tonya Foster Wins 2023 C.D. Wright Award for Poetry

Author: Staff
January 25, 2024
B&W photo of Tonya Foster in front of a mic

Congratulations to Professor Foster from the Department of Creative Writing! The C.D. Wright Award for Poetry is an endowed annual award that was established in 2017 in memory of American poet, Carolyn D. "C.D." Wright, who died in 2016 at the age of 67.The $45,000 award is made annually through Grants to Artists to a poet over the age of 50 whose work exemplifies Wright's vibrant lyricism, seriousness, and striking originality.

Read more about the award and Dr. Foster here